Bishop's Council
What is the Bishop's Council?

The Bishop's Council is the senior committee of the Diocese and acts in several different capacities.

As the Standing Committee of the Diocesan Synod, the Council:

  • Advises the Bishop in Council
  • Prepares agendas for the Diocesan Synod (delegated to the Business Committee)
  • Develops policy for the Synod to debate
  • Receives tasks from the Synod

As the Directors and Trustees of the DBF it:

  • Is responsible for central diocesan finances
  • Approves the DBF's budget and the annual Report and Accounts before presentation to Synod
  • Is responsible for complying with legislation

As the Diocesan Mission and Pastoral Committee (DMPC) it:

  • Has oversight of Diocesan Deployment
  • Considers and authorises pastoral schemes
  • Interacts with the Deanery Pastoral Committees


Membership of the Council as of 12 May 2020

The Council is made up of a mixture of ex-offico, elected and appointed members. The members are:

Ex Officio:

The Rt Revd Dr Christopher Cocksworth (Bishop of Coventry)
The Rt Revd John Stroyan (Bishop of Warwick)
The Very Revd John Witcombe (Dean of Coventry)
The Ven Sue Field (Archdeacon Pastor) 

The Ven Barry Dugmore (Archdeacon Missioner)
Mr Simon Danks (Chair of the DBF)
The Revd Charlotte Gale (Chair of the House of Clergy of the Diocesan Synod)
Mrs Helen Simmonds (Chair of the House of Laity of the Diocesan Synod)


The Revd Graeme Anderson

Mrs Karen Armbrister

Mr Christopher Baker

The Revd Stella Bailey

The Revd Dwayne Engh

Mr John Franks

Mrs Jo King

The Revd Claire McArthur

The Revd Richard Mutter

Mr Peter Rogers

The Revd Celia Parkes

Mr Tim Pollard

Mr David Spiers

The Revd Canon Dr David Stone

Dr Yvonne Warren


The Bishop's nominees and co-opted members on Bishop's Council are:

Mrs Joyce Amos

Mr James Styan Kendall

The Revd Clive Hogger

The Revd Kate Massey

The Revd Canon Dr Jill Tucker

The DAC nominee is The Revd Richard Williams

The DBE nominee is The Revd Elaine Scrivens


The Secretary to the Bishop's Council is Mrs Ruth Marlow, the Diocesan Secretary.